The Chamber Music Network

Livestream Masterclass 2019 - Exploring Classical and Contemporary Rep

February 16, 2019, 2:30PM - 4:30PM EST

Click HERE to see 2019 livestream. 


Classical work: Debussy String Quartet in G Minor, opus 10

Contemporary work: Marcelo Zarvos, Nepomuk’s Dances I - Arrival  

In ACMP's second annual virtual livestream masterclass, Catalyst Quartet worked with two learning quartets in a string masterclass. Chamber music players at all levels participated remotely, individually or in groups, and posted questions and comments through a live chat feed. The program featured a classical and a contemporary work. The FREE masterclass was accessible from computers worldwide.

In this two-hour masterclass, Catalyst Quartet conducted back-to-back sessions with two learning quartets at the National Opera Center, New York City. A multi-camera crew from VirtualArtsTV delivered every detail of the workshop in a close-up, real-time high-quality stream. Chamber music players wherever they were participated in groups, ensembles, or individually on their computers and devices, gaining tips and insights into playing technique and interpretation on two chamber music works. Participants engaged with the class throughout the session via a live chat feed, connecting with the event and each other. Online participants experienced the session as if they were in the room.

Participating learning quartets included a student quartet from The Chamber Music Center of New York and  from Face the Music at Kaufman Music Center, NYC, a program that focuses on studying and performing music by living composers (see rehearsal video clips below). The Chamber Music Center quartet played the Debussy, String Quartet in G Minor, Op.10, first movement. The ensemble from Face the Music performed Nepomuk's Dances I - Arrival, a highly rhythmic piece by Brazilian-American composer Marcelo Zarvos. The masterclass ended with a performance by Catalyst Quartet, featuring selections from Villa-Lobos, String Quartet No. 1 and Catalyst Quartet's arrangement of Piazzolla, Angel Suite.

Find scores for the Debussy Quartet below (click on full score or instrumental part to download):

Full score    Violin 1    Violin 2     Viola    Cello

Find scores for Nepomuk's Dances I - Arrival - provided courtesy of the composer (click on full score or instrumental part to download):

Full score   Violin 1     Violin 2      Viola     Cello

Click here to see media release.



From top left, Catalyst Quartet, Quartet from The Chamber Music Center New York (CMC) with ACMP Executive Director Jennifer Clarke (photo by Martin D. Toub); bottom, Catalyst Quartet explores Debussy Quartet with CMC (photo by Martin D. Toub)

Catalyst Quartet with 


Click here for livestream FAQ

ACMP Livestream Masterclass


Posted by ACMP - Associated Chamber Music Players on Saturday, February 16, 2019


This program is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.